Friday, July 1, 2011

Ice Cream: the good, the bad, the ugly

I like ice cream, but I'm not one of those people who buys nor eats it regularly. When I do eat it, I scoop a reasonable amount into a mug and enjoy it that way. I'm not one of those people who can eat unlimited amounts of ice cream. My sister Meredith is one of those people. So is my hermanita, Rachel. They will eat   2/3 of a carton of ice cream in one sitting, just scooping out spoon after spoon. They come by it honestly. My mother has probably been known to eat an entire pint of ice cream in one sitting, and Rachel's parents used to go on dates and buy a 1/2 gallon of ice cream and eat the whole darn thing. So it's natural that they can eat so much ice cream. I just am not one of those ice cream people. Or I wasn't. Until I met my roommate, Heidi, who believes that ice cream is it's own food group. It is a staple in her freezer. Ice cream is to Heidi what coffee is to me. But thanks to my ice-cream-loving roommate, ice cream is a staple in our freezer and I eat it more than I normally would or should. There is this DELIGHTFUL brand of ice cream here in Memphis called Blue Bell. It still comes in a 1/2 gallon carton, instead of 1.75 qts. And the Cookies 'N Cream flavor is quite possibly the best store bought ice cream I've ever eaten. Heidi and I have consumed an entire gallon of this deliciousness (ok, we also fed it to company on two different occasions - we didn't eat it all by ourselves).  Here is a picture of the wonderful stuff:

When I went to Schnucks (the name of a tragic little grocery store here in Memphis) store the other day, I decided that we should branch out and try something a little different. So I bought Schnucks brand Moose Tracks ice cream. WORST decision EVER. Schnucks makes the WORST Moose Tracks ice cream in the WORLD. I should have stuck with Blue Bell. The moral of this story? DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT buy Schnucks brand ice cream, EVER. And if you can find Blue Bell ice cream, go buy some right now. It will change your life in an incredibly positive way. Thanks for listening to this ice cream rant.




No comments:

Post a Comment